Conservative Party retains control of Surrey County Council

David Hodge Surrey County Council leader David Hodge held his seat in Warlingham for the Conservatives

Related Stories

The Conservative Party has retained overall control of Surrey County Council and gained three more seats.

The Liberal Democrats lost four seats in Thursday's election, but still remain the main opposition party with nine members.

UKIP won three seats, with Labour and the Green Party each winning one. Residents' Associations have seen 10 members elected across the county.

In total 81 seats were available in Surrey, with the Tories winning 58.

Surrey has lived up to its reputation as a "true blue" county during this election, with the Conservatives keeping a firm grip on the council.

Boundary changes which increased the number of seats from 80 to 81 mean there is not a direct comparison with the last elections in 2009.

But the party will be delighted to have even more councillors than it did before.

UKIP will also be pleased to have three seats, although it lost the one it had previously held in Weybridge.

One of the new seats is in Shalford after the Conservatives forgot to register a candidate in time for the election.

There will disappointment amongst the Liberal Democrats and there are likely to be questions about whether the party's national situation had an impact on local votes.

Surrey County Council leader David Hodge held his seat in Warlingham, but with a reduced majority after a strong showing from UKIP's candidate.

Mr Hodge was re-elected after winning 1,444 votes - 369 more than UKIP's Martin Haley.

Overall control

UKIP increased its share from one seat to three, taking Godstone, Shalford, and Staines South and Ashford West.

Labour took the seat of Stanwell and Stanwell Moor and the Green Party won Redhill East.

Each of the 11 district and borough councils were responsible for counting votes cast at polling stations.

Previously, the Conservatives held overall control of the county council, with 55 councillors.

The results were published on the county council's website.

Tandridge District Council was the first local authority to finish counting in the early hours.

VOTE 2013
Party English Councils Councillors
Total Change +/- Total Change +/-
CON 18 -10 1116 -335
LAB 3 2 538 291
LD 0 0 352 -124
UKIP 0 0 147 139
GRN 0 0 22 5
OTH 0 0 187 24
NOC 13 8 N/A N/A

After 34 of 34 councils declared

All results for England & Wales

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC Surrey



Min. Night 1 °C


Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.