Mike Hill to chair Kent Police Authority

Mike Hill Mike Hill will chair Kent Police Authority until after the election for Commissioner in November

Related Stories

A county councillor has been elected as chairman of Kent Police Authority until the body's dissolution in November.

Conservative Mike Hill, from Tenterden, was appointed to the police authority by Kent County Council in 2002 and elected as vice-chair in 2005.

The former police authority chair, Ann Barnes, resigned last month to stand as an independent candidate for Kent Police Commissioner.

Elections for the post are to take place on 15 November.

The vice-chair of the authority until the new commissioner takes office on 22 November is independent county councillor Tim Thompson, from Maidstone.

Other candidates who have announced so far that they will stand for the job of Kent Police Commissioner are independents Ian Driver, Ken Little, Dai Liyanage and Fergus Wilson; Conservative Craig Mackinlay; English Democrat Steve Uncles and Labour's Harriet Yeo.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC Kent



22 °C 16 °C


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.