Ann Barnes resigns as police authority chair

Ann Barnes Ann Barnes announced her intention to stand for election last month

Related Stories

The chair of Kent Police Authority has resigned after announcing she is to stand as an independent candidate for Kent Police Commissioner.

Ann Barnes was appointed to the authority in 2001, and was elected as chair in June 2005.

"It would not be right and proper for me to remain as a member of the authority after declaring as a candidate," she said.

Police commissioners will be elected in England and Wales on 15 November.

Ms Barnes's resignation will take effect from 10 August.

The Conservative candidate is Medway councillor Craig MacKinlay. Labour's is Ashford councillor Harriet Yeo.

Five other independent candidates have announced they will stand in the election - Thanet councillor Ian Driver, former Medway Mayor Dai Liyange, businessman Fergus Wilson, former Kent police officer Fran Croucher and campaigner Ken Little.

The Liberal Democrats are not putting forward a candidate.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC Kent



19 °C 14 °C


  • HandshakeKiss and make up

    A marriage counsellor on healing the referendum hurt

  • Pellet of plutoniumRed alert

    The scary element that helped save the crew of Apollo 13

  • Burnt section of the Umayyad Mosque in the old city of AleppoBefore and after

    Satellite images reveal Syria's heritage trashed by war

  • Woman on the phone in office10 Things

    The most efficient break is 17 minutes, and more nuggets

  • Amir TaakiDark market

    The bitcoin wallet with controversial users

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.