19 July 2012
Last updated at 04:16
The Kent Cultural Baton is a mobile art project travelling across the county in the lead up the London 2012 Olympics. Artist Nicole Mollett who has been 'carrying the baton' asked people for hidden gems from their local area. The BBC photographed some of the locations, including Muswell Manor on the Isle of Sheppey - the birthplace of British aviation.
The Grant Hotel in Folkestone is where the town's first beauty pageant took place in 1908. Entrepreneur Robert Forsyth and the managing director of the town's pier introduced the competition to provide entertainment for locals.
King Edward VII opened the ballroom, which hosted the beauty pageant. The ballroom was one of the first sprung dance floors in Europe, but the room is now carpeted and used for functions.
It is believed there was a chain linking the Isle of Grain fort (pictured) to nearby Sheerness on the Isle of Sheppey during World War II to stop boats entering the Medway. When the tide is low, the remains of the old walkway causeway can be seen.
The Bull pub on Rochester's High Street was renamed The Royal Victoria and Bull Hotel when Princess Victoria, later the Queen, stayed at the coaching house in November 1836 when caught out by an unexpected storm. To commemorate her visit, the former owners bought what they thought was her royal crest, when in fact it is the crest to another royal member, according to a local historian.
Artist Graham Gilmore is painting a series of boards for the art project titled Secrets of Kent. The hand-painted signs will be placed at various locations across the county during the Olympics to share these unknown facts and places with the wider public.
Muswell Manor is based in Leysdown on Sea on the Isle of Sheppey, where Britain's first aero club was founded. The 16th Century manor house is now used as a B&B and the surrounding airfields for holiday homes and farmland. Owner Sharon Munns said many aeroplanes waved their wings as a mark of respect when they flew over.
A cave in Margate has more than four million sea shells covering the walls of the 185 sq metre (2,000 sq ft) space of mosaic tunnels. It is not known who created the Shell Grotto or how it came to be there, after it was discovered 1835. The small unassuming grotto can be found on a side street in the seaside town.
Time for tea? Teapot Island in Yalding, near Maidstone, is home to more than 6,000 teapots. It is believed to be one of the biggest collections of teapots in the world.
Collector Sue Blazye (pictured centre) welcomes people to her home each year, answering questions and showcasing her teapots. Since moving to "Teapot Island" she said she had slowly converted more and more rooms to display her teapots.
Pluckley, a small village outside Ashford, is believed to be England's most haunted village. The area has 12 official ghosts recorded in the Guinness Book of World Records.