24 September 2013
Last updated at 16:18
The National Trust has begun the search for new tenants for an 18th Century house in Cumbria which is only accessible by boat and gets its milk delivered by canoe. The Grade II listed Derwent Island House is located on a 7 acre (2.8 hectare) island on Derwent Water.
In medieval times, Derwent Island was owned by monks before it became the property of the monarchy in 1539. In 1569, it was home to a group of German miners who were working in the area. They built a camp on the island where they kept their own animals, grew their own vegetables and brewed their own beer.
Derwent Island House was built in 1780 by Joseph Pocklington from Newark, who constructed a small fort to use for mock battles during annual regattas on the lake. In the 1840s, Yorkshireman Henry Marshall added two wings to the house to give its present-day Italian style.
In 1951, Mr Marshall's grandson Denis Marshall gave the property to the National Trust, which has let it out for the past 60 years.
The house, which has seven bedrooms and five reception rooms, also has a mock chapel and boathouse in its grounds and a large collection of furniture and art.
Estate agent Helen Lancaster said that while the milk was delivered by canoe, any tenant would have to "go ashore to reach the bins or collect mail, [making it] a unique way of life".
The property, which the National Trust hopes will have new tenants by December, will open to the public for at least five days of the year.