South Central Ambulance Service becomes foundation trust

Ambulances SCAS serves Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire and Hampshire

Related Stories

South Central Ambulance Service NHS Trust (SCAS) is the latest ambulance service to become a foundation trust.

The move sees the service gain greater independent control from the government but remain part of the NHS.

SCAS chair Trevor Jones said the new status meant it would be "more accountable to local people".

The newly named South Central Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust has recruited 8,000 public members but is looking for an additional 4,000.

Mr Jones added: "We look forward to working with members and our newly elected governors in developing our future strategy and service development."

Foundation trusts were introduced in April 2004. There are now over 100 in England.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More England stories



Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.