News Issues Background Parties Analysis TV/Radio/Web Interactive Forum Live
Search Home

The 1992 General Election

On 9 April 1992, the Conservatives won their fourth successive genreal election. Their overall majority, however, was only 21, a significant reduction from their 1987 score of 101.

Election news report...

Party Votes Seats Change UK Vote Share (%) GB Vote Share (%)
Conservative 14,092,891 336 - 40 41.9 42.8
Labour 11,559,735 271 + 42 34.4 35.2
LibDems 5,999,834 20 - 2 17.9 18.3
Others 1,960,683 24 + 1 5.8 3.8

John Major
Despite entering the campaign as the underdog, John Major brought the Tories their fourth successive election victory
Shortly after the election, Neil Kinnock resigned as Labour leader and Roy Hattersley resigned the deputy leadership. They were replaced by John Smith and Margaret Beckett respectively.

Although the Conservatives were victorious, they suffered significant casualties along the way. The most notable was Chris Patten, the party Chairman, who had his majority of 1,412 turned over by the Liberal Democrats in Bath. He was later appointed Govenor of Hong Kong. In total, nine government ministers lost their seats including the Overseas Aid Minister, Lynda (now Baroness) Chalker who was defeated at Wallasey.

The 1992 election was also notable for some prominent figures who retired from the House of Commons. Margaret Thatcher, Denis Healey, Nigel Lawson, Sir Geoffrey Howe, Michael Foot, David Owen and Merlyn Rees all stood down.

Betty Boothroyd became the first ever woman speaker in the new parliament, taking the Speaker's Chair on the 27th of April.

See also:

1992 - Conservatives
1992 - Labour
1992 - Liberal Democrats
1992 - Key Issues
1992 - Key Events

Diana, Princess of Wales, 1961-1997

Conference 97   Devolution   The Archive  
News | Issues | Background | Parties | Analysis | TV/Radio/Web
Interactive | Forum | Live | About This Site

© BBC 1997