Media playback is unsupported on your device

Atlantis space shuttle makes final landing

21 July 2011 Last updated at 11:36 BST

US space shuttle Atlantis has made its final landing, bringing to a close a 30-year orbiter programme.

The shuttle and its four man crew landed safely at Kennedy Space Centre with its wheels touching the runway just before local sunrise (0556 EDT; 0956 GMT; 1056 BST).

Footage provided by Nasa shows a pilot's view of the vehicle coming into land.

Moments after touchdown, shuttle commander Chris Ferguson announced the mission was "now complete" and that the shuttle had "found its place in history".