BBC Home > BBC News > Wales Politics

Ed Miliband picks 12 Welsh MPs for front bench team

10 October 11 12:40
Susan Elan Jones is one of three Welsh whips

Labour leader Ed Miliband has picked 12 Welsh MPs for his front bench team, including two who were elected last year.

Pontypridd MP Owen Smith is promoted to the shadow Treasury team and Clwyd South MP Susan Elan Jones is one of three Welsh whips.

Labour recently voted to scrap shadow cabinet elections, giving Mr Miliband a free hand over appointments.

Neath MP Peter Hain kept his post as shadow Welsh secretary.

Mr Hain is the only Welsh MP in the shadow cabinet following a reshuffle by Mr Miliband on Friday.

Mr Smith was formerly a shadow Wales Office minister. He was moved to the Treasury when Labour announced its full front bench on Monday.

His old post will be filled by Llanelli MP Nia Griffith. Former MP Lord Bryan Davies of Oldham will also speak for Labour on Welsh affairs in Westminster.

Ms Jones was previously a parliamentary aide to Harriet Harman as shadow secretary for international affairs.

All 12 MPs had roles in Labour's previous front bench line-up or were parliamentary private secretaries.

Before a vote at the party's conference last month, Labour's opposition front bench was elected every two years.

Mr Miliband heralded a "changing of the guard" when he announced his shadow cabinet last week.

Share this

Related BBC sites