Media playback is unsupported on your device

Man Booker Prize expands eligibility criteria

18 September 2013 Last updated at 23:02 BST

The Man Booker Prize is changing its rules to allow all authors who write fiction in English to enter as long as they are published in the UK.

At the moment only authors from Britain, Ireland, the Commonwealth and Zimbabwe are eligible.

The BBC's Will Gompertz considers the likely impact of the new rules.

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.