Jorie Graham leads TS Eliot prize nominations

Jorie Graham Jorie Graham won the Forward Prize for P L A C E earlier this month

Related Stories

US poet Jorie Graham is among the 10 writers shortlisted for this year's TS Eliot Prize for Poetry.

The writer is nominated for her collection, P L A C E, which won the Forward Prize earlier this month.

If Graham wins, she will follow in the footsteps of John Burnside, who won both prizes last year for his collection, Black Cat Bone.

Other poets up for the £15,000 prize include Simon Armitage, Sharon Olds and Kathleen Jamie.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony on 14 January, with the shortlisted poets each receiving £1,000.

It is the third time Armitage has been nominated for the prize - which is now in its 20th year - but he has never won. The Yorkshire-born poet is shortlisted for his translation of the 15th Century medieval romance The Death of King Arthur.


  • Simon Armitage - The Death of King Arthur
  • Sean Borodale - Bee Journal
  • Gillian Clarke - Ice
  • Julia Copus - The World's Two Smallest Humans
  • Paul Farley - The Dark Film
  • Jorie Graham - P L A C E
  • Kathleen Jamie - The Overhaul
  • Sharon Olds - Stag's Leap
  • Jacob Polley - The Havocs
  • Deryn Rees-Jones - Burying the Wren

Winner will be announced on 14 January

Olds was nominated for Stag's Leap, about the end of her marriage, while Jamie was recognised for The Overhaul, her first collection since 2004's Forward prize-winning The Tree.

Sean Borodale, a poet and artist who writes documentary poems on location, was also chosen for his debut, Bee Journal, which tells the life of a bee hive.

Poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy, who is the chair of the judges, said: "In a year which saw a record number of submissions, my fellow judges and I are delighted with a shortlist which sparkles with energy, passion and freshness and which demonstrates the range and variety of poetry being published in the UK".

Poets Michael Longley and David Morley are also on the judging panel.

Previous winners include Ted Hughes, Duffy herself and Seamus Heaney.

Last year, the prize was marred by controversy after two of the shortlisted poets withdrew from the prize in protest over its sponsorship by investment firm, Aurum Funds.

The firm continues to back the prize this year.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More Entertainment & Arts stories



  • Alana Saarinen at pianoMum, Dad and Mum

    The girl with three biological parents

  • Polish and British flags alongside British roadsideWar debt

    Does the UK still feel a sense of obligation towards Poles?

  • Islamic State fighters parade in Raqqa, Syria (30 June 2014)Who backs IS?

    Where Islamic State finds support to become a formidable force

  • Bride and groom-to-be photographed underwaterWetted bliss

    Chinese couples told to smile, but please hold your breath

  • A ship is dismantled for scrap in the port city of Chittagong, BangladeshDangerous work

    Bangladesh's ship breakers face economic challenge

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.