Stars join Songwriters Hall of Fame

Ne-Yo, Bette Midler, Ben E. King and Bob Seger give their reaction to their awards

Related Stories

Multi-platinum artist Bob Seger, Bette Midler and R&B star Ne-Yo have been inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The team behind enduring hit Stand By Me - Ben E. King and songwriting duo Mike Stoller and the late Jerry Leiber - were given The Towering Song Award.

King was also presented with a special award for his performance on the track.

Ne-Yo, who was given the Hal David Starlight Award for young songwriters, credited music with saving him.

"I was a pretty riled up little kid," he explained, on the red carpet. "If not for my mom giving me the pad and the pen and telling me to take my emotions and put them there, there's no telling. I might I have been sticking you up or something."

Ben E. King and Mike Stoller Ben E. King and Mike Stoller were honoured with a special award for their track Stand By Me, along with the late Jerry Leiber

Fleetwood Mac singer Stevie Nicks presented Bette Midler with the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award. It honours industry veterans who are "pioneers in their craft" and have "inspired the music community".

Midler has enjoyed success on stage, screen and as a recording artist, winning three Grammys - including for her 1989 hit, Wind Beneath My Wings.

"Any award is a great honour," said Midler. "I mean people think of you and it is very sweet. It is all very sweet."

Bette Midler and Stevie Nicks Bette Midler was handed her award by Fleetwood Mac singer Stevie Nicks

Seger kicked off the ceremony in New York with a performance of 1973 track, Turn the Page.

The Detroit rocker achieved commercial success with 1976 album Night Moves. He called songwriting the hardest but most rewarding thing he does.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by Johnny Mercer to recognise the best in the field.

Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones, the writers of long-running musical, The Fantastick's, were also honoured in the ceremony's 43rd year.

Other inductees include Jim Steinman, who wrote Bat Out of Hell and Total Eclipse of the Heart, Canadian folk rocker Gordon Lightfoot, and Don Schlitz, who penned country hits including When You Say Nothing at All.

Among those taking to the stage to hand out awards or perform were Meatloaf, Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl, Steve Miller and Kenny Rogers.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More Entertainment & Arts stories



Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.