Alan Hollinghurst returns to Man Booker Prize longlist

Alan Hollinghurst and The Stranger's Child cover Alan Hollinghurst won the prize in 2004 for The Line of Beauty

Related Stories

Former Man Booker Prize-winner Alan Hollinghurst is one of 13 authors up for this year's award.

The British novelist, who won in 2004 for The Line of Beauty, is nominated for his follow up The Stranger's Child.

Previously shortlisted writers Sebastian Barry and Julian Barnes are also nominated again this year.

The shortlist of six authors will be announced on 6 September with the winner of the £50,000 annual prize named on 18 October.

Canadian authors Alison Pick, Patrick deWitt and Esi Edugyan made this year's longlist.

While four debut novelists - Stephen Kelman, AD Miller, Yvvette Edwards and Patrick McGuinness - also made the cut.

The winner will receive £50,000, while each of the shortlisted authors will receive £2,500 and a designer bound edition of their book.


  • Julian Barnes - The Sense of an Ending
  • Sebastian Barry - On Canaan's Side
  • Carol Birch - Jamrach's Menagerie
  • Patrick deWitt - The Sisters Brothers
  • Esi Edugyan - Half Blood Blues
  • Yvvette Edwards - A Cupboard Full of Coats
  • Alan Hollinghurst - The Stranger's Child
  • Stephen Kelman - Pigeon English
  • Patrick McGuinness - The Last Hundred Days
  • AD Miller - Snowdrops
  • Alison Pick - Far to Go
  • Jane Rogers - The Testament of Jessie Lamb
  • DJ Taylor - Derby Day

A total of 138 books were whittled down by the judges, chaired by Dame Stella Rimington.

"We are delighted by the quality and breadth of our longlist, which emerged from an impassioned discussion," Dame Stella said.

"The list ranges from the Wild West to multi-ethnic London via post-Cold War Moscow and Bucharest."

Writer and journalist Matthew d'Ancona, author Susan Hill, author and politician Chris Mullin and The Daily Telegraph's Gaby Wood complete the judging panel.

Hollinghurst's novel is a century-spanning saga about a love triangle that spawns a myth - and a family mystery - across generations.

Bookmakers already have the author the favourite to win the award with odds of 5/1 over Barnes at 6/1 - who has lost out on the prize three times previously.

Last year's Man Booker Prize was won by Howard Jacobson for The Finkler Question, beating competition favourite Pete Carey.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More Entertainment & Arts stories



BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.