Exams in progress sign
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Exam changes: Wales, N Ireland and Scotland

An overhaul of GCSEs in England has been announced by Education Secretary Michael Gove to help pupils in England "compete with the best in the world".

From 2015, GCSEs will move from coursework to exams at the end of two years and will be graded from 8 to 1, rather than A* to G.

The changes mean that in two years time, England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland will all have different exam systems for 16-year-olds.

Hywel Griffiths, Chris Buckler and James Cook report from Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland respectively.

  • 11 Jun 2013
  • From the section UK
Go to next video: GCSEs to get tougher under shake-up