Four swans performing a courtship dance on a lake


Swans are the largest members of the duck and goose family. With mute swans weighing as much as 15kg. There are six species in the genus. All the swans native to Britain have white plumage, whereas those from the Southern hemisphere have all black or partly black feathers.

Scientific name: Cygnus

Rank: Genus


Map showing the distribution of the Swans taxa

The shading illustrates the diversity of this group - the darker the colour the greater the number of species. Data provided by WWF's Wildfinder.

The Swans can be found in a number of locations including: United Kingdom. Find out more about these places and what else lives there.

Explore this group


The following habitats are found across the Swans distribution range. Find out more about these environments, what it takes to live there and what else inhabits them.


Discover what these behaviours are and how different plants and animals use them.

Additional data source: Animal Diversity Web

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.