A small group of oriental clawed otters facing the camera

Weasel family

Weasels and their relatives the otters, badgers and wolverines form the family mustelidae. This is the largest family of carnivores, found everywhere except Antarctica, Australia, Madagascar and some other, smaller islands. Typically small mammals they range in size from the tiny least weasel, that is no bigger than a mouse; to the giant otter that can measure over two metres in length.

Scientific name: Mustelidae

Rank: Family

Common names:



Map showing the distribution of the Weasel family taxa

The shading illustrates the diversity of this group - the darker the colour the greater the number of species. Data provided by WWF's Wildfinder.

Explore this group

When they lived

Discover the other animals and plants that lived during the following geological time periods.

BBC News about Weasel family