Yellow-billed kites chasing each other

Birds of prey

The Falconiformes order contains all the familiar birds of prey, or raptors, that hunt by day, including falcons, eagles and vultures. Owls, which hunt by night, are in a separate order.

All you need to know about British birds.

Scientific name: Falconiformes

Rank: Order

Watch video clips from past programmes (1 clip)

In order to see this content you need to have an up-to-date version of Flash installed and Javascript turned on.


Map showing the distribution of the Birds of prey taxa

The shading illustrates the diversity of this group - the darker the colour the greater the number of species. Data provided by WWF's Wildfinder.


  1. Life
  2. Animals
  3. Vertebrates
  4. Birds
  5. Birds of prey

Elsewhere on the BBC