Two cobras

Cobras, kraits and coral snakes

Cobras, kraits, coral snakes and related species are a family of venomous snakes. It includes such famous members as the coral snake, the inland taipan and the black mamba. The sea snakes also belong to this family.

Scientific name: Elapidae

Rank: Family

Watch video clips from past programmes (1 clip)

In order to see this content you need to have an up-to-date version of Flash installed and Javascript turned on.


Map showing the distribution of the Cobras, kraits and coral snakes taxa

The shading illustrates the diversity of this group - the darker the colour the greater the number of species. Data provided by WWF's Wildfinder.

Explore this group


  1. Life
  2. Animals
  3. Vertebrates
  4. Reptiles
  5. Scaled reptiles
  6. Snakes
  7. Cobras, kraits and coral snakes

Elsewhere on the BBC