Small group of kangaroos silhouetted at sunset

Kangaroos, possums and wallabies

Kangaroos, possums and wallabies are an order of marsupial mammals that includes all the most familiar Australian animals: kangaroos, wallabies, possums, koalas and wombats. Most diprotodontids are herbivorous, although some eat insects and nectar and a few extinct ones were carnivores.

Scientific name: Diprotodontia

Rank: Order

Common names:



Map showing the distribution of the Kangaroos, possums and wallabies taxa

The shading illustrates the diversity of this group - the darker the colour the greater the number of species. Data provided by WWF's Wildfinder.

Explore this group


  1. Life
  2. Animals
  3. Vertebrates
  4. Mammals
  5. Kangaroos, possums and wallabies

BBC News about Kangaroos, possums and wallabies

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.