Red deer stag in front of a herd of hinds


The deer family (Cervidae) contains 44 living species, including the moose, muntjac and caribou. The males of all species of deer except the Chinese water deer have antlers. In caribou, both sexes have antlers.

Why use culling to manage wildlife?

Scientific name: Cervidae

Rank: Family


Map showing the distribution of the Deer taxa

The shading illustrates the diversity of this group - the darker the colour the greater the number of species. Data provided by WWF's Wildfinder.

Explore this group

Prehistoric life

When they lived

Discover the other animals and plants that lived during the following geological time periods.