This page has been archived and is no longer updated.Find out more about page archiving.

Simian Mobile Disco Temporary Pleasure Review

Album. Released 2009.  

BBC Review

Experienced in the correct context, this is really quite stunning

Ian Wade 2009

Simian Mobile Disco is the work of two men: Jas Shaw James Ford. In 2005 they jettisoned away from the wreckage of the vastly underrated electro-pop four-piece Simian to become rave-up merchants of no little acclaim, and two years later released debut album Attack Decay Sustain Release. The pair are among the most in-demand producers, DJs and remixers operating in the UK today.

So it’s no real surprise that this album is large, a towering monolith of wonky disco-textured dimensions and pure unadulterated indulgence, spitting out chunks of acidic boogie like diamond mirrorball shards. Unlike its predecessor, though, Temporary Pleasure features an array of high-profile guest vocalists, each adding a new dimension to the duo’s sound.

Super Furry Animals’ Gruff Rhys appears on luscious opener Cream Dream; Beth Ditto bursts a lung or two on Cruel Intentions; Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor lends his talents to the condensed carnival of Bad Blood; and Chris Keating from prog-rock oddballs Yeasayer provides vocals on baffling recent single Audacity of Huge. Also along for the ride are Telepathe, Jamie Lidell and Young Fathers, and each plays a part in the house party album of the season.

Because Temporary Pleasure is that, and more besides: an intense blast of shape-throwing marvellousness that rivals The Chemical Brothers at their superstar peak. You probably wouldn't want to hear it on repeat for 24 hours or anything, but for its 40-minute run time, SMD hog your attention in ways you'll find almost indecent (but in a good way, naturally). Experienced in the correct context, this is really quite stunning.

Creative Commons Licence This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you choose to use this review on your site please link back to this page.