BBC Radio New Comedy Award 2013 Final

Monday 9 December



Patrick Kielty hosts the Grand Final of the BBC Radio New Comedy Award 2013 - Radio 2 and Radio 4 Extra's nationwide search to find the UK's comedy stars of the future - live from The Comedy Store in London.

The BBC Radio New Comedy Award 2013 is searching the country to find the next big comedy stars to join the likes of previous finalists Alan Carr, Peter Kay, Lee Mack, Sarah Millican, Russell Howard and Rhod Gilbert.

Over 600 acts entered this year, 80 acts competed in eight regional heats held across the UK and 12 were chosen - two by an audience vote - to perform in the semi-finals in London and Birmingham. Finally, six acts were put through to the final stage by our panel of comedy judges, which included Executive Producer for BBC Radio Comedy, Julia McKenzie, and comics Mark Steel and Gary Delaney.

Those final six acts go head to head to battle it out in the hope of being crowned winner of the BBC Radio New Comedy Award 2013 with a prize of £1,000 and a commission with BBC Radio Comedy. Their fate will be decided by the radio listeners, who will be able to listen to the finalists and cast their vote to decide the winner of the 2013 award at

Irish funnyman Patrick Kielty is host for the evening, with an esteemed comedy panel that includes comedian Rhod Gilbert offering their feedback before handing over to the public to cast the final vote.

Last year’s winner Lucy Beaumont and top musical act Abandoman will provide the extra entertainment as the votes are counted… There can only be one winner; tune in to find out who.

Presenter/ Patrick Kielty, Producer/ Tilusha Ghelani