The EE British Academy Film Awards

Confirmed for BBC One on 10 February at 9.00pm to 11.00pm

Ep 1/1

Sunday 10 February



Stephen Fry takes centre stage at the Royal Opera House, London, returning to his role as host for one of the world’s most prestigious film ceremonies, the EE British Academy Film Awards.

Actors Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) and Helen Mirren (Hitchcock) will be flying the flag for Britain in the in the Leading Actor & Actress categories, as they take on some of the most talented actors from around the world, while Dame Judi Dench competes for the hotly-contested Supporting Actress award for her role as M in the Bond film, Skyfall.

BBC’s exclusive coverage begins on BBC Three, as Edith Bowman chats to the nominees as well as other A-list celebrities as they arrive on Britain’s most glamorous red carpet. The programme will also feature highlights from previous awards, including the funniest acceptance speeches, red carpet successes and disasters, and the unexpected moments that happen on live television.

The action then transfers to the Royal Opera House auditorium for the ceremony on BBC One (HD), attended by some of the greatest film talent from the UK and across the globe.

Leading the battle for the famous BAFTA mask is Steven Spielberg’s historical drama, Lincoln, with 10 nominations including Best Film, Leading Actor and Supporting Actress. British film Les Misérables, the adaptation of the stage musical is close behind with 9 nominations, also receiving nods in the Best Film, Leading Actor and Supporting Actress categories. Ang Lee’s visual masterpiece, Life Of Pi is tied for second place, also receiving 9 nominations, with Argo (7 nominations) and Anna Karenina (6 nominations) close behind.

Last year’s big winner at the Awards was the silent film, The Artist, taking home 7 awards including Best Film, Director, Leading Actor and Cinematography. Meryl Streep took home the Leading Actress BAFTA for her portrayal of Margaret Thatcher in The Iron Lady and American director Martin Scorsese was inducted into the BAFTA Fellowship.