The Eurovision Song Contest 2012

Date: 19.03.2012     Last updated: 25.03.2014 at 13.21
The BBC is pleased to announce that international music legend Engelbert Humperdinck will sing “Love Will Set You Free" when he represents the UK in the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest on Saturday 26 May in Baku, Azerbaijan, broadcast live on BBC One and BBC One HD.

Engelbert calls for the UK to get behind him as he flies the flag for the nation this May at the 57th Eurovision Song Contest in Baku, Azerbaijan in front of an estimated 120 million viewers worldwide.

“Love Will Set You Free” has been recorded in London, Los Angeles and Nashville and is co-written and produced by Grammy Award-winning Martin Terefe (James Morrison, KT Tunstall, Mary J Blige), and Ivor Novello Award-winning Sacha Skarbek (Adele, James Blunt co-writer ‘You’re Beautiful’, Lana Del Rey). Engelbert will be accompanied on stage by guitarist James Bryan, well-known for his appearances with Nelly Furtado. Also, Arlene Phillips will be staging Engelbert’s performance in Baku.

Derek McLean, BBC Creative Director Entertainment, says “As Eurovision draws ever closer, we are delighted to announce that Engelbert will perform ‘Love Will Set You Free’ to a worldwide audience of millions at the Eurovision Song Contest. It is a soaring ballad that has been crafted by some of the best people in music. With credentials like these, and our very own music legend on vocals, this year our Eurovision entry is second to none.”

Engelbert Humperdinck added: “I have my eyes on the prize with my song ‘Love Will Set You Free’. I’m very proud of the song and with the nation behind me, I feel ready and look forward to the rollercoaster ride that is Eurovision!"

Forty-two countries will compete this year and 20 of the countries represented in the final will be decided by two semi-finals, broadcast live on BBC Three at 8pm on Tuesday 22 and Thursday 24 May. Ten countries from each semi-final will go through to the grand final along with the big five – the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, plus host country Azerbaijan.

UK viewers will once again be part of the Eurovision Song Contest experience via the red button. Red button users will be able to sing along to the lyrics of all 26 finalists songs, both in English and the original language. Viewers will also be able to share their comments and thoughts on this year’s grand final. The BBC’s Facebook and Twitter feed @bbceurovision will also give viewers the chance to voice their opinions on all things Eurovision right up until the grand final.

The Eurovision Song Contest grand final on BBC One and BBC One HD and semi-finals on BBC Three are executive produced by Andrew Cartmell. The grand final on BBC One will be produced by Russell Minton and the semi-finals on BBC Three will be produced by Ali Marlow.