Shortlist announcement for BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2012

Date: 29.11.2012     Last updated: 18.03.2014 at 17.51
Category: Sport; Wales
The shortlist for BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2012 has today been announced, with 10 contenders nominated for the prestigious award. The nominees are Gareth Bale, Leanda Cave, Nathan Cleverly, Mark Colbourne, Aled-Sion Davies, Tom James, Jade Jones, Dan Lydiate, Josie Pearson and Geraint Thomas.

The title will be decided by public vote, with the winner announced on BBC Radio Wales in a special programme with Jason Mohammad from 7.30pm on the evening of Monday, December 10, from the awards ceremony at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff. And BBC Radio Cymru will also be broadcasting live from the event with updates during Ifan Evans’ programme from 7pm. BBC Wales Today will have coverage of the announcement at 10.25pm on BBC One Wales.

During the BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2012 ceremony, the winners of the Team of the Year for 2012, along with the Carwyn James Award for the Junior Sports Personalities, will also be revealed. In addition, there will also be the presentation of the BBC Cymru Wales Lifetime Achievement Award.

The winner of the BBC Cymru Wales Unsung Hero 2012 award is Arthur Wood, a long-term volunteer at Swansea Rifle Club, who has devoted many thousands of hours over a long period of time to help all who attend the club. Arthur will go forward to represent Wales at the network BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 awards held at the ExCel in London on Sunday evening, 16 December.

The contenders:

  • Gareth Bale: Footballer Gareth Bale has been the inspirational figure in the Wales team during the current World Cup qualifiers, and is recognized as one of the most talented players in the world game.
  • Leanda Cave: Triathlete Leanda Cave produced an amazing double in 2012 to win both the Ironman and Half-Ironman women's World Championships - the first woman to hold these titles in the same year.
  • Nathan Cleverly: Boxer Nathan Cleverly has grown in confidence and stature in 2012 with two impressive defences of his WBO light-heavyweight title at home and, for the first time, in the United States of America.
  • Mark Colbourne: Cyclist Mark Colbourne claimed Wales' first gold of the 2012 Paralympic Games in the track C1 3km Individual Pursuit, breaking the world record twice in a day. And if that wasn’t enough, he also won a further two silver medals at the Games.
  • Aled-Sion Davies: Multi-talented field athlete Aled Sion Davies claimed two medals at the London 2012 Paralympics, winning a bronze medal in the F42/44 shot put before claiming gold in the F42 discus. The 21-year-old from Bridgend set a new European record in the process.
  • Tom James: Rower Tom James repeated his success at the Beijing Olympics four years ago by being part of the Great Britain coxless four that claimed gold once again at London 2012.
  • Jade Jones: Jade Jones took the Olympics by storm in winning gold in the Taekwondo event in London - the 19 year-old’s enjoyment of her title-winning moment being one of the iconic images of the Games.
  • Dan Lydiate: Flanker Dan Lydiate was a key performer in the Wales rugby union team that won the Grand Slam earlier this year, and his high level of consistency resulted in him being voted the Six Nations Player of the Tournament.
  • Josie Pearson: Josie Pearson took her place on the world stage by winning a gold medal in the F51 discus category at the 2012 Paralympics in London. The 26-year-old from Hay-on-Wye, Powys, broke the world record three times on her way to gold.
  • Geraint Thomas: Cyclist Geraint Thomas became one of only four Welshman to win multiple Olympic gold medals when Great Britain's team pursuit quartet defended their Beijing Olympic track title at London 2012, smashing the world record on the way.

You will be able to vote for your BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2012 by phone or text: full details will be announced just before the voting lines open on Monday morning, 3 December.