BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in February 2004We've left it here for reference.More information

17 September 2014
Accessibility help
Text only
Legacies - Tyne

BBC Homepage
 Legacies
 UK Index
 Tyne
 Your stories
Introduction
 Article
Listings
 Archive
 Site Info
 BBC History
 Where I Live

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

 
Work
Your Story: My Grandma & Grandad

At the age of 21, I was a Milkman. To get the job I went to the diary manager. The only thing you had to be good at was maths. There were a lot of people. The best thing about the job was being out in the open air. The things I didn't like was when it snowed and rained.

My Grandma: As part of our history project, I interviewed my grandma. I wanted to know what life was like when she was 21. This is what she told me.

At the age of 21 I worked as a shoe shop assistant. To get this job I had to have an interview and a test. The only really qualification is was if you were good at maths. There was six other assistants in the shoe shop, working with me at the time. The best thing about the job was being paid and having a nice manageress who I got on well with. Most of my money was spent on cinema and dancing. Sometimes I did not like this job because there were some grumpy people and some people had a smelly feet.

Words: Maddison Knowles

Pages: [ 1 ]


Your comments




Print this page
Archive
Look back into the past using the Legacies' archives. Find nearly 200 tales from around the country in our collection.

Read more >
Internet Links
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Web sites.
Kent
The hoppers of Kent
Related Stories




About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy