1986 AN ADULT'S DAY AT HOME

   My name is John. I am 34 years old. 
 I get up in the morning at 7.00 am. I 
 have a wash, a shave and get dressed  
 and go downstairs at about 7.20 am. I 
 put on the kettle in the kitchen to   
 make a pot of tea and then I take the 
 dog out for her morning walk.         
   I return at about 7.45 am. and eat  
 breakfast, usually cereal, which my   
 wife has prepared. At 8.00 am. I leave
 home to drive to work.                
   I return home from work at about    
 5.00 pm. and wash and change in time  
 for dinner which is usually at about  
 6.00 pm. After dinner I usually read  
 the paper for an hour and then do any 
 work which is necessary. This might be
 gardening or work connected with my   
 job. Later in the evening I might go  
 out with my wife to the local public  
 house or I might stay at home and     
 watch the television.                 
 

Map of the area

What is Domesday?

In 1986 the BBC launched an ambitious project to record a snapshot of everyday life across the UK for future generations. A million volunteers took part…  read more here

In 2011 the BBC published the survey online and for six months invited updates to the photographs and text to celebrate the 25th anniversary.

Shortly afterwards the website was added to The National Archives’ UK Government Web Archive.

If you are reading this via UK Government Web Archive, then the original Domesday search function and contact form will not work. This is a consequence of the archiving process. See Using Domesday for more details.