BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

18 September 2014
Accessibility help
Wars and Conflict - The Plantation of Ulster

BBC Homepage
Wars and

  The Plantation
  Ireland before the Plantation
  London Companies
  American connection
  Tully Castle
  Religious legacy
  Ulster Scots
Settlement map
  Bardic poetry
  Audio gallery


  Go further

Contact Us

by topic by time by people
Settlement Maps

The official Ulster Plantation covered the modern counties of Londonderry, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Armagh, Cavan and Donegal. Counties Down and Antrim were excluded because successful private Plantations had already begun to take place there.

Image of R.J. HunterRetired University of Ulster Historian R.J.Hunter explains the process of settlement set out below in the 17th century Plantation map of Ulster.

Listen to R.J. Hunter explain the process of settlement.

Read the transcript.

Settlement map of Ulster

17th century settlement map of Ulster
To listen to the clips, you will need the free Realplayer plugin. Use this WebWise link for a step by step guide to downloading Real-player. These clips are not playable with Windows Media Player.

Top of Page

Reading room Multimedia zone For kids How to

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy