Val des Terres stone
Find out what the stone at the top of the Val des Terres commemorates.
The stone commemorates the official opening of the road on 24 July 1935.
Work began on what was then known as 'new road' after the Bailiff Arthur Bell cut the turf on 8 January 1931. Bracken and gorse grew thickly on the hill and had to be cleared before the roadway could be cut.
The Prince of Wales, who later became Edward VIII, cut the ribbon and unveiled the commemorative stone in front of a crowd of more than 5,000 school children and hundreds of other islanders.
Edward later became one of the shortest-reigning monarchs in history, abdicating after a reign of just 325 days, following the upheaval caused by his proposal of marriage to the American divorcee Wallis Simpson.
But making his first visit to the islands on a glorious summer's day in 1935 he was described as 'the people's Prince Charming' and welcomed by round after round of cheers as he arrived at the White Rock on board the speedboat from HMS Faulknor, the ship which he travelled on.
After an official welcome at St George's Hall, he visited the St Martin's Boys Club before arriving at the Val des Terres.
The North United band greeted the Prince with "God Bless the Prince of Wales" which the children sang along to while waving flags.
After officially opening the road Edward unveiled the stone, weighing between four and five tons, which had been moved from a field near L'Eree and engraved with: "Le Val des Terres. Cette route a été inaugurée par son altesse Royale, Le Prince de Galles. Le 24 Juillet, 1935."
Following the opening, he inspected Ex-Servicemen at South Esplanade, laid a wreath at the Bailiwicks' War Memorial, went to Government House for lunch and visited the Farmer's Cattle Show at Saumarez Park before departing.
last updated: 13/03/2009 at 10:13
[an error occurred while processing this directive]