BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in May 2008We've left it here for reference.More information

19 April 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Local BBC Sites

Neighbouring Sites

Related BBC Sites

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Election 2008

You are in: Guernsey > States of Guernsey > Election 2008 > West Results

Parish crests of the West

Parish crests of the West

West Results

Results from the 2008 Guernsey Deputies election for the West District.

West Election Facts

In 2008:

  • There were 4,906 people on the electoral roll
  • This was 136 (3%) more than in 2004
  • 12 candidates stood for the six seats

In 2004:

  • 13 candidates stood for the six seats
  • 13,664 votes were cast
  • 2,854 people voted
  • This was 64% of those registered
  • Voters used an average of 4.8 votes

Results from the West District in the 2008 Election declared at 00:22 on Thursday 24 April.

Elected Deputies and number of votes:

Al Brouard  2,202
David de Lisle  1,682
Marc Laine  1,645
Shane Langlois  1,300
Peter Sirett  1,265
Gloria Dudley-Owen  1,205

Unsuccessful Candidates and number of votes:

Arrun Wilkie  1,050
David Gorvel  1,007
Paul Domaille  932
Mimi Byrom  595
Robert Plumley  390
Nara Le Noury  67

2,945 or 60.1% of voters on the electoral roll turned out to vote.
A total of 13,340 votes were cast.
There were three blank papers, two spoilt papers and on average 4.5 votes were cast.

All three standing deputies were re-elected to the house and will be joined by two candidates who stood in the 2004 election and newcomer Marc Laine.

The elected candidates will be sworn into the Guernsey States at the meeting on 1 May.

last updated: 28/05/2008 at 18:23
created: 22/04/2008

You are in: Guernsey > States of Guernsey > Election 2008 > West Results

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy