BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in May 2008We've left it here for reference.More information

12 July 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Local BBC Sites

Neighbouring Sites

Related BBC Sites

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Election 2008

You are in: Guernsey > States of Guernsey > Election 2008 > St Sampson's Results

St Sampson as shown on the parish's crest

St Sampson as shown on the parish crest

St Sampson's Results

Results from the 2008 Guernsey Deputies election for the St Sampson's District.

St Sampson's Election Facts

In 2008:

  • Lyndon Trott polled fewer votes than were needed to be elected in 2004
  • There were 4,848 people on the electoral roll
  • This was 443 (10%) more than in 2004
  • 13 candidates stood for the six seats

In 2004:

  • 11 candidates stood for the six seats
  • 12,756 votes were cast
  • 2,827 people voted
  • This was 64% of those registered
  • Voters used an average of 4.5 votes

Results from the St Sampson's District in the 2008 Election declared at 23:48 on Wednesday 23 April.

Elected Deputies and number of votes:

Peter Gillson  1,687
Sam Maindonald  1,386
Scott Ogier  1,375
Ivan Rihoy  1,337
Lyndon Trott  1,181
Jane Stephens  1,095

Unsuccessful Candidates and number of votes:

Andy Bichard  928
John Duquemin  861
David Cranch  846
Brian Harris  694
Robert Broome  612
Andrew Barham  535
Glen Smith  137

2,755 or 55.97% of voters on the electoral roll turned out to vote.
A total of 12,674 votes were cast.
There were two blank papers, six spoilt papers and on average 4.6 votes were cast.

The four standing deputies were re-elected to the house along with two first time candidates including Peter Gillson who topped the poll.

The elected candidates will be sworn into the Guernsey States at the meeting on 1 May.

last updated: 28/05/2008 at 18:23
created: 22/04/2008

You are in: Guernsey > States of Guernsey > Election 2008 > St Sampson's Results

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy