A product derived from the bones of animals and used as a setting agent for sweet or savoury jellies and pudding fillings. It is also widely used in the wine world as a fining agent.
Gelatine is tasteless and comes in powdered form or in transparent leaves. Sprinkle powdered gelatine over cold water and leave to soak and swell, then stir it into hot liquid until dissolved. Soak leaf gelatine in a little cold liquid for a few minutes to soften, then squeeze out the excess moisture and add hot liquid to the leaves to dissolve them.
Vegetarians and vegans can substitute gelatine with agar-agar.
Type the ingredients you want to use, then click Go. For better results you can use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "chicken breast"). Alternatively you can search by chef, programme, cuisine, diet, or dish (e.g. Lasagne).