A vegetarian alternative to gelatine, agar-agar is the jelly that results from boiling several kinds of seaweed together. It’s dried and sold in powder form, flakes or bars and is also used as a stabiliser or thickener in many food products. It is useful if you want to make a jelly using pineapple, kiwi fruit or papaya, as these fruits break down the protein found in gelatine, preventing the jelly from setting.
Available from the larger branches of most supermarkets as well as Asian grocers (it’s frequently used in Asian cuisines).
Type the ingredients you want to use, then click Go. For better results you can use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "chicken breast"). Alternatively you can search by chef, programme, cuisine, diet, or dish (e.g. Lasagne).