SSO 2014-15 Season Shostakovich 10 Shostakovich 10

Shostakovich 10


19:30 Thursday 25 Sep 2014 Grand HallCity Halls, Glasgow

Concert Information

A horn calls softly, a piano dreams in the twilight, and Scriabin’s Piano Concerto begins its enchanted journey. That’s the centrepiece of the opening concert of our season: the finest piano concerto Rachmaninov never wrote, played by a soloist celebrated for his interpretations of the Russian piano repertoire. It’s a very different world from Shostakovich’s shattering Tenth Symphony. A heartfelt cry for freedom written under the shadow of Stalinism, it’s still one of the 20th century’s most overwhelming symphonic experiences. Donald Runnicles conducts, and opens the concert by whipping up a storm with Mussorgsky’s exciting orchestral showpiece.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Club Room
Writer and critic Richard Bratby introduces the orchestra’s 2014/15 season.

Post-Concert Coda (approximately 10 minutes after the main concert)
Barry Douglas gives a short recital.


Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss