10 May 2014 City Halls

Tectonics 2014 Orchestral Concert 1 Orchestral Concert 1

Orchestral Concert 1


17:30 Saturday 10 May 2014 Grand HallCity Halls Candleriggs, Glasgow, Glasgow City G1 1NQ

Concert Information

The first orchestral concert kicks off with BBC Commissions from three major figures in contemporary music: the American composer and artist David Behrman, ‘plunderphonist’ John Oswald, and the European spectralist Georg Friedrich Haas. Haas’s saxophone concerto finds its perfect exponent in Marcus Weiss, while Christian Wolff ’s work from 2000, Ordinary Matter, is performed in its version for reduced ensemble.

David Behrman - How We Got Here (BBC Commission, World Premiere)
John Oswald - I’d love to turn (BBC Commission, World Premiere)
Christian Wolff - Ordinary Matter, version for two orchestras*
Georg Friedrich Haas - Saxophone Concerto, UK Premiere
Georg Friedrich Haas - Concerto Grosso No.2 for ensemble and orchestra (BBC Commission, World Premiere)

Added item image
Added, go to My Music to see full list.
More from