Sibelius & Schumann in Carlisle, Sibelius & Schumann in Carlisle

BBC Philharmonic
  • Sibelius
  • Finlandia
  • Violin Concerto in D minor
  • Schumann
  • Symphony No. 1 in B flat major 'Spring', Op 38

Concert Information

The BBC Philharmonic looks forward to warmer months in this concert in Carlisle’s Sands Centre. The first half has a decidedly wintry feel; we hear two works by Finland’s Jean Sibelius, which evoke the dark, Nordic atmosphere: Finlandia, loved for its most endearing of melodies known by many as the hymn ‘Be Still my Soul’, and the dreamy and passionate Violin Concerto. After the interval Schumann’s First Symphony, inspired by the composer’s ‘longing for spring’, conjures images of warmer, brighter skies.

Tachartasan BBC Philharmonic eile

As ùire

BBC © 2014 Chan eil uallach air a' BhBC airson na th' air làraich-lìn eile.

Gheibhear sealladh nas fheàrr den duilleig seo le sealladair lìn nas ùire agus na duilleagan stoidhle (CSS) air. Ged a chithear susbaint na làraich leis an t-sealladair lìn a th' agaibh, tha sinn a' moladh an dreach as ùire den bhathar-bhog ur sealladair a thoirt a-nuas, no ur duilleagan-stoidhle a chur air ma ghabhas sin dèanamh.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss