Sibelius & Schumann in Carlisle, Sibelius & Schumann in Carlisle

BBC Philharmonic
  • Sibelius
  • Finlandia
  • Violin Concerto in D minor
  • Schumann
  • Symphony No. 1 in B flat major 'Spring', Op 38

Concert Information

The BBC Philharmonic looks forward to warmer months in this concert in Carlisle’s Sands Centre. The first half has a decidedly wintry feel; we hear two works by Finland’s Jean Sibelius, which evoke the dark, Nordic atmosphere: Finlandia, loved for its most endearing of melodies known by many as the hymn ‘Be Still my Soul’, and the dreamy and passionate Violin Concerto. After the interval Schumann’s First Symphony, inspired by the composer’s ‘longing for spring’, conjures images of warmer, brighter skies.

Other BBC Philharmonic Events


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss