NOW On the Road 2014-15 The American Dream, The American Dream

BBC National Orchestra of Wales
  • Copland
  • Fanfare for the Common Man
  • Hummel
  • Concerto for Trumpet in E major
  • Copland
  • Quiet City
  • Dvořák
  • Symphony No. 9 in E minor, 'From the New World'

The American Dream

Dvořák wrote his last symphony soon after he had moved to New York, and filled the work with references to both Native American songs, and his native Czech folk dances. It’s since gone on to be one of the most popular of all symphonies.

American composer Copland was inspired to compose his powerful Fanfare for the Common Man, full of hope and aspiration, after hearing a speech by Henry A Wallace, then Vice-President of the United States. We’ll also be playing Quiet City, which started life as incidental music for a play of the same name, and features a haunting trumpet part.

Tickets: £15

BBC National Orchestra of Wales Audience Line: 0800 052 1812
No fees apply to tickets bought through the BBC National Orchestra of Wales Audience Line.

William Aston Hall: 01978 293293
William Aston Hall applies a Booking Fee of £2. Transactions are subject to a Postage Charge of 60p.

28 Mar 2015, 7.30pm
BBC National Orchestra of Wales Audience Line 0800 052 1812

Other BBC National Orchestra of Wales Events


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss