23 Jun 2012 – 24 Jun 2012 Hackney Marshes

Radio 1's Hackney Weekend 2012 Lola King and The Kickstarts

Hackney Weekend 2012


Sunday 24 Jun 2012 BBC Introducing Stage

Don't stop moving

Formerly Kyoshi, Lola King and the Kickstarts are songwriting duo Lola King and her brother Dan alongside a technically accomplished rhythm section creating a sound that gets you off your feet in an instant.

With such an exciting innovative frontwoman, the band have a swagger that reminds you of No Doubt while Lola calls upon both Bob Dylan and Lauryn Hill as her great lyrical inspirations. The results are an unmistakeably London sound with Lola’s mix of cheeky rhymes and vocal punctuations and driving basslines and jazz-pop melodies provided by the Kickstarts. On their Soundcloud page you’ll find a track called Bounce Together which we reckon sums them up just perfectly.

Set List on BBC Introducing Stage on 24 Jun 2012 at Hackney Marshes

  • She Don't Care
  • I Need Money
  • I Left My Heart In England
  • The Great Divide
  • Somebody To Love
  • Bang!
  • Bounce Together
  • Your Own Beat

Similar Acts

Added item image
Added, go to My Music to see full list.
More from