Spanish Tour 2014 San Sebastian, SPAIN, San Sebastian, SPAIN

BBC Philharmonic
  • Pierné
  • Ramuntcho - overture
  • Bruch
  • Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor
  • Prokofiev
  • Romeo and Juliet - selection

Concert Information:

UPDATED Saturday 10 May:
Boris Belkin replaces Julia Fischer, who is unable to perform due to an injury.

The BBC Philharmonic and Chief Conductor Juanjo Mena perform this evening in San Sebastian’s Auditorio Kursaal, a dazzling feat of architecture overlooking the Bay of Biscay.

They begin with a work by Gabriel Pierne - his melancholic overture ‘Ramuntcho’ - before being joined by vituoso violinist Boris Belkin for Bruch’s popular Violin Concerto No. 1. The second half features excerpts from Prokofiev’s ballet score to Romeo and Juliet, music that perfectly conjures up images of Shakespeare’s most tragic of young lovers in its lyrical and colourful orchestration.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss