21 Oct 2014 Milton Court

BBC Singers 2014-15 Season Music for Forty Voices Music for Forty Voices

Music for Forty Voices


19:30 Tuesday 21 Oct 2014 Milton Court London EC2Y 8DT

  • Alessandro Striggio 1536–1592
  • Motet 'Ecce beatam lucem'
  • Knut Nystedt 1915–2014
  • Stabat mater
  • Thomas Tallis 1505–1585
  • Spem in alium
  • Robin Walker b.1953
  • I have thee by the hand, O Man
  • Carl Vine b.1954
  • Inner World
  • Henri Dutilleux 1916–2013
  • Trois strophes sur le nom de SACHER
  • Ivan Moody b.1964
  • The Land that is Not
  • Gabriel Jackson b.1962
  • Sanctum est verum lumen

Concert Information

Old and new collide in this chorally spectacular programme. Directed by Conductor Laureate Stephen Cleobury, the concert includes the great 16th-century motets by Alessandro Striggio and Thomas Tallis plus two contemporary works conceived on a similar scale by Gabriel Jackson and Robin Walker. With choral works for the seductive combination of choir and cello, plus Carl Vine’s stunning work for cello and electronics, this concert offers a spectacular range of aural experiences in the brilliant acoustic of this new concert hall.

Milton Court, 6.15pm
A family-friendly workshop which introduces the music of the evening's concert. Suitable for newcomers and music fans alike.

Click on the link below for more information.

Added item image
Added, go to My Music to see full list.
More from