2013 Rhag 12 City Halls

BBC SSO 2013-14 Season John Adams: City Noir John Adams: City Noir

John Adams: City Noir

Wedi chwarae

Dydd Iau 12 Rhag 2013 Grand HallCity Halls Candleriggs, Glasgow, Glasgow City G1 1NQ

  • Ludwig van Beethoven 1770–1827
  • Symphony No 4 in B flat major Symphony No 4 in B flat major Enw arall: Symphony No 4 in B flat major, Op 60
  • Dmitri Shostakovich 1906–1975
  • Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor

John Adams: City Noir

It's one of the most talked-about new scores of recent years. And there's absolutely nothing minimal about John Adams's City Noir, a sassy, bluesy symphony of Los Angeles, inspired by classic movies and scored for a Mahler-size orchestra. This is music that demands to be heard, and Donald Runnicles has set it alongside the dazzling brightness of Beethoven's headlong Fourth Symphony and the ominous twilight of Shostakovich's tormented First Violin Concerto, performed here by James Ehnes - whose "indelible, intellectually gripping" Shostakovich performances have left critics reeling. Three masterworks from three centuries, each speaking to the other - and, more importantly, to us: right here and right now.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room (free to ticket-holders, limited seating availabilty)
Violinist James Ehnes in conversation with BBC SSO violinist Alex Gascoine.

Post-Concert Coda (approximately 10 minutes after the main concert)
(added 13/12/13) In a change to the originally advertised programme, James Ehnes played three movements (Preludio; Gavotte en rondeau; Gigue) from the Partita No.3, BWV1006 for solo violin by JS Bach - and the Largo from the Sonata No.3, BWV1005 for solo violin.

The main concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3, presented by Jamie MacDougall.

Added item image
Added, go to My Music to see full list.
More from