Skip to main contentText Only version of this page
Access keys help
Where I Live
A-Z Index

5 July 2006
Accessibility help
Text only
Doctor Who - starring David Tennant and Billie Piper, written by Russell T Davies. The official site.

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

Doctor Who | News | 10 August 2006

Who's new

The Doctor and MarthaFilming begins on third series Of Doctor Who.

With Christmas special The Runaway Bride now in the can, the new series of Doctor Who starts filming this week.

Joining David Tennant is newcomer Freema Agyeman, who will play medical student Martha Jones.

"I am still pinching myself and can't wait to get started!" Says Freema. "It's been nerve wracking but David has been brilliant in helping me to adjust on my first days on set. I am really looking forward to travelling through time and space with him over the next eight months."

Russell T Davies, writer and Executive Producer, adds: "We were delighted and honoured by the second series' success, and we can promise new thrills, new laughs and some terrifying new aliens. The Doctor and Martha are destined to meet William Shakespeare, blood sucking alien Plasmavores, The Judoon - a clan of galactic stormtroopers and a sinister intelligence at work in 1930's New York."

Filming of the Christmas episode which guest stars Catherine Tate as a bride who finds her wedding day interrupted by an alien plot to destroy the earth has already been completed. The storyline features the return of the Robot Santas and also guest stars Sarah Parish as the evil, alien mastermind.

Returning cast members include John Barrowman who will be making an appearance in the series finale. Guest stars include Anne Reid, Roy Marsden, and Don Gilet.

Writers for Series Three include Russell T Davies, Steven Moffat, Gareth Roberts, Paul Cornell, Helen Raynor, Chris Chibnall and Stephen Greenhorn. Charles Palmer, Euros Lyn, Graeme Harper and Richard Clarke will take on directing duties.

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy