Suggestionspermalink

Request confirmation of restart

This discussion has been closed.

  • First
  • Last
  • Message 1. Posted by Wisey (U14873296) on Wednesday, 18th May 2011 permalink

    After the 'New Version of iPlayer' has been installed the setup program restarts the user's computer without warning or request for any user input.

    This the user no chance to save anything that they may be doing at the time. I personally cannot think of any other installation program which also does this.

    I'm surprised iPlayer still does this, it is not as if program updaters have not been around for decades and none of the others shut you down without warning.

    (Also this is one of the first forums I have found without a search function, well done the BBC)

    complain

  • Message 2. Posted by burrito (U14859926) on Wednesday, 18th May 2011 permalink

    I've just updated and it didn't do that. It's never done that before either during an update. I think you may have had a coincidental crash.

    complain

    This is a reply to this message.

  • Message 3. Posted by Chris O (U13750132) on Wednesday, 18th May 2011 permalink

    ^^ I agree with Burrito.

    complain

    This is a reply to this message.

  • Message 4. Posted by Wisey (U14873296) on Wednesday, 18th May 2011 permalink

    Unlikely to be a crash:
    A) The computer went through the standard restart procedure (close all programs, log off, turn off, turn on.

    B) The computer did not restart in recovery mode

    C) Only happens with iPlayer update (not adobe air update though) and just after it closes.

    Basically it acts exactly as it would if any other installer wanted a restart, except it does not ask you whether a restart is desired at the time.

    Anyway due to (C) if it is a crash (which I doubt) it is likely caused by iPlayer update, which would be a problem that needs reporting.

    complain

    This is a reply to this message.

  • Message 5. Posted by Guv-nor (U7476305) on Wednesday, 18th May 2011 permalink

    I installed version 3.2.7 the release of today (18.05.2011) two hours ago and there was no restart of the computer forced or requested. No programmes were lost no licences reset all was fine and dandy.

    Since then I have tested its various functions and found them all satisfactory.

    All in all a very successful update.

    complain

    This is a reply to this message.

  • First
  • Last

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.