BBC Home

Explore the BBC

5th August 2015
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

editors review
editor content by: editor
virginia button 'the turner prize twenty years'

Two decades of shocking Britart.

seesee image gallery

It’s a credit to the state of British art that the Turner Prize judges manage to find “controversial” artists to shortlist every year. Over the 20 years of its history we’ve seen vibrant and diverse home-grown art gain international acclaim, while here it’s regularly scorned by an often condescending press that seems resistant to change. But it would be a mistake to assume that this isn’t part of the organisers’ master plan.

The Turner Prize: Twenty Years chronicles and contextualises its place within the art world and British culture. Offering insight into the only fine art prize to have won a place in our national consciousness, it tells how the Turner has always sought to be “nourished by media attention”, how it aims to inspire art debate within a wider audience and how it can be both the best and worst thing for a nominee.

In essays about each of the 60-plus featured artists it captures a snapshot of our recent art history, as well as offering a good entry point for the baffled viewer.

If debate about art uncovers a questioning of what we most value, it’s certainly hard to deny that something about our society is reflected in this book. If you’ve ever found yourself on the bus wondering what relevance Damien Hirst’s cow carcasses or Chris Ofili’s elephant pooh paintings have, then this might be one for your Christmas list. Rowan Kerek 07 November 03

The Turner Prize: Twenty Years by Virginia Button is out now, published by Tate Publishing.

useful link: tate: turner prize 20 years

featured artists
2003 – Jake and Dinos Chapman, Willy Doherty, Anya Gallaccio, Grayson Perry
2002 – Fiona Banner, Liam Gillick, Catherine Yass. Winner: Keith Tyson
2001 – Richard Billingham, Isaac Julien, Mike Nelson. Winner: Martin Creed
2000 – Glenn Brown, Michael Raedecker, Tomoko Takahashi. Winner: Wolfgang Tillmans
1999 - Tracey Emin, Steven Pippin, Jane and Louise Wilson. Winner: Steve McQueen
1998 - Tacita Dean, Cathy de Monchaux, Sam Taylor-Wood. Winner: Chris Ofili
1997 - Christine Borland, Angela Bulloch, Cornelia Parker. Winner: Gillian Wearing
1996 - Craigie Horsfield, Gary Hume, Simon Patterson. Winner: Douglas Gordon
1995 - Mona Hatoum, Callum Innes, Mark Wallinger. Winner: Damien Hirst
1994 - Willie Doherty, Peter Doig, Shirazeh Houshiary. Winner: Antony Gormley
1993 - Hannah Collins, Vong Phaophanit, Sean Scully. Winner: Rachel Whiteread
1992 - Damien Hirst, David Tremlett, Alison Wilding. Winner: Grenville Davey
1991 - Ian Davenport, Fiona Rae, Rachel Whiteread. Winner: Anish Kapoor
1990 – no prize
1989 - Gillian Ayres, Lucian Freud, Giuseppe Penone, Paula Rego, Sean Scully, Richard Wilson. Winner: Richard Long
1988 - Lucian Freud, Richard Hamilton, Richard Long, David Mach, Boyd Webb, Alison Wilding, Richard Wilson. Winner: Tony Cragg
1987 - Patrick Caulfield, Helen Chadwick, Richard Long, Thérèse Oulton. Winner: Richard Deacon
1986 - Art & Language, Victor Burgin, Derek Jarman, Stephen McKenna, Bill Woodrow. Winner: Gilbert & George
1985 - Terry Atkinson, Tony Cragg, Ian Hamilton Finlay, John Walker. Winner: Howard Hodgkin
1984 - Richard Deacon, Gilbert & George, Howard Hodgkin, Richard Long. Winner: Malcolm Morley

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.

Read members' comments.
  it's started to get easier!
5 comments | last comment Nov 10, 2003

real player to access audio and video on collective you need real player.

collective's dead...
Long live Collective. Read our editor and member features.
bbc news
news entertainment

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy