Government bans three alleged terrorist groups


The government has added three groups to its list of proscribed organisations.

MPs approved without a vote a government motion adding Ansar Bayt al Maqdis, Al Murabitun and Ansar al Sharia to the groups banned under the Terrorism Act 2000.

Explaining the decision to the House on 2 April 2014, Home Office Minister James Brokenshire outlined offences believed to have been perpetrated by the groups, in view of which "proscription is a tough but necessary power".

He received Labour's backing, with shadow Home Office minister Diana Johnson saying the opposition was "happy to accept" the government's assurance that these organisations were implicated in crimes at the "highest end of seriousness".

She pressed the government on what it was doing to clamp down on the activities of Hizb ut-Tahrir, with support from her party colleague and chair of the Home Affairs Committee Keith Vaz, who was concerned the government "appears to be unable to do anything about it".

The minister was also asked to clarify the process for de-proscription.

"The government does not intend to time limit proscription," the minister said, as it considers existing measures to be "sufficient".

In relation to Hizb ut-Tahrir, Mr Brokenshire said the government "does continue to have significant concerns" and it would continue to be "monitored closely".

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.