MEPs appoint Juncker as Commission president


On Tuesday 15 July 2014, MEPs formally elected Jean-Claude Juncker as President of the European Commission.

Following a speech to MEPs, Mr Juncker was approved by 422 votes. 250 MEPs voted against his appointment.

Copyright © 2016 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.