Political Studies Association Awards 2013


On 26 November 2013 the Political Studies Association held its annual awards dinner.

The event celebrates the year's high achievers amongst politicians, journalists, academics and campaigners.

For the first time there was an award for "policy innovation" which went to journalist and blogger Andrew Sullivan, for his work to bring about legislation on same sex marriage.

David Cameron and Alex Salmond were jointly awarded the "democratic innovation" prize for signing the agreement which paved the way for Scotland to hold the independence referendum next year.

Labour MP Stella Creasy was named "Campaigner of the Year" for her work on tackling pay-day lending firms, and Conservative MP Andrew Tyrie was awarded for his use of evidence as Chair of the Parliamentary Commission into Banking Standards.

Other awards include parliamentarian of the year, political transparency, and lifetime achievement in politics.

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.