Explore the BBC

18 June 2014
Accessibility help
Text only
The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy - Home Our Guide To The Hitch-Hiker's Guide

BBC Homepage
Cult homepage
» The New Series

Original Series
The Guide
Guide to the Guide
Douglas Adams
Service of Celebration
Poetry Corner
Picture Gallery

h2g2 Community

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external web sites.


Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

Click for More Pictures

audio audio
The clip should play automatically after a few seconds. If not, click here, or view RealMedia help.

Books The Books
Hitch-Hiker's in Print
Douglas Adams Books
Writing without Hitch
h2g2 h2g2
Join the Online Guide.

A Trilogy in Five Parts

The inaccurately named Hitchhiker's Trilogy now consists of five books, the first of which is The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (1979).

The books get more serious in tone as the trilogy moves on. The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (1980) still broadly follows the plot of the Radio and TV series.

Life, the Universe and Everything (1982) concerns itself with Cricket, and a creature with a grudge called Agrajag. In So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (1984) the girl in the cafe in Rickmansworth comes into her own, and Arthur returns to what might be the earth, and falls in love.

The final book Mostly Harmless (1992) comes full circle, with Arthur making sandwiches; discovering his daughter, Random; a new edition of the Guide; and the destruction of the Earth, again.

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy