through Camborne now takes you into Church Lane. To the left of the churchyard
entrance is the Parish Vestry building.
was built to tie in with 'Sturges Bourne's Act of 1819'. It empowered
parishes to appoint vestries `for more effectual execution of the laws
for the relief of the poor'.
the corner from the Vestry is the local `clink' or lock-up. It was here
that felons would be held overnight. The lock-up also doubled as a pound
for stray cattle.
of St Martin & St Meriadocus
churchyard and follow the path round towards the front of the church.
There are plenty of interesting crosses in the churchyard. One of those
to look out for is the tall cross by the war memorial. There are dots
on there which are believed to represent the numbers killed in a battle
on 'Reskajeage Downs'.
It is also
worth looking for the gravestone of a famous Cornish sculptor. Neville
Northey Burnard was born in 1818. He was responsible for the bust of Dr
George Smith in Camborne's Wesley Chapel and the Lander memorial in Truro.
The church was restored and enlarged in 1878.
church itself is a fascinating sight. The `Levuit' altar slab, is a piece
of grey elvan with a key-patterned border. Historians believe it to be
at least 1000-years-old. They claim originally came from the chapel of
St la, Troon.
memorial is to Alexander Pendarves who died in 1655. Sir William Pendarves
is said to have had his coffin made out of the first copper that was raised
from North Roskear mine.